A spinal what??? Spondy huh?? My Journey to Surgery Begins…

So leaving off from the last post, I begin here….

In February I passed kidney stones ( I know eeekk 😫), but after passing them I was having constant pain still. So they sent me in for a scope on my bladder and kidneys, and of course no more stones. Well this is when I found out I possibly could have back problems.😬 

Off to the orthopedic surgeon I went after getting my first MRI done (which was painful) to find out news I hadn’t expected. 

Thank goodness my wonderful hubby was there because I think the shock of what I was being told hindered my ability to remember what all we were told. 

So this is my story, my battle, and my setback….

Many of you have talked to me personally about what I am dealing with and I have also discussed it on Facebook. But to write about it helps me, writing has always calmed my soul. So with that being said I have decided to use my blog for the next few months as I go through anterior/posterior spinal discemoty decompression fusion surgery to document my steps and recovery. Anterior and posterior are fancy words for they are going in through my stomach and in through my back. Sounds fun right? Yeah not so much, but this is my setback and battle. 

I have bilateral spondylolsis = meaning a defect in my pars interarticularis in my case the defect is that both sides (bilateral) are broke off completely from my spine. This can be seen in the picture below👇🏻

Because of the pars defect it made my L5 S1 disk unstable causing it to slip forward also know as spondylolisthesis. 

This disc and L4 and L5 are bulging and desiccated (when the disc dries out of fluid which leads to erosion, it’s basically degenerative). 

And with all of this it causes bilateral( both sides) foraminal stenosis = spinal root is compressed spinal nerves in this part right here👇🏻

As you have read and can see, it’s very painful, my everyday activities have pretty much came to a stop. Easy life things like driving cause me severe pain. Sometimes on days where I do too much like maybe cook a small meal, drive the kids somewhere, and get up and down too much will cause me crazy bad pain. So for now it’s a lot of taking it easy and resting. And to be honest even on those days I still end up hurting. Sleeping has become a pain, and it’s something I love so much. Many nights it will be 4 to 5 in the morning before I get comfortable enough to sleep. So in short I hurt a lot!!!  

Being told surgery was the only option I have because pt and steroid shots wouldn’t fix the problems I have, well it shocked me! Never saw that coming? Back surgery at age 34😝! 

So as I go through this process I will write with each step, mainly for me to look back on and well for any of you who wonder “hmm what’s up with her!”  Well here it is! 

I want to add that there are many millions of people who have it worse than I do. I am thankful because it could be a lot worse. You have probably read a few times in this post me calling it a “setback” well that’s how I see it. Keep reading to witness how my setback becomes my comeback. 

At the end of the day it stinks, just plain stinks. In order to have my life back I sadly have to sacrifice 3 or 4 months. 

I am blessed beyond measure with the love from my husband who gives me courage when I get scared. My kiddos who love me with all their heart! My parents(mother in law included, she is just my other mom) who constantly help me with whatever I need. So I am blessed and I believe with staying positive my body isn’t going to beat me!!!  

Sooooo stay tuned as I travel this journey step by step. As of today I have 2 months and 6 days before surgery!

Leave a comment